Written by David Gross

Birch Horton Bittner & Cherot (“BHBC”) has always prided itself in being a full-service law firm.  Our goal has been to provide our clients with support no matter what legal issues they may be facing.  This commitment is unaltered in the face of the COVID-19 pandemic.  Over the last two weeks, BHBC has been called upon to address a wide array of issues.  In each instance, we have been able to provide the advice and resources our clients needed to address the problem.  The following is a list of some of the issues we have tackled and the names of the attorneys at BHBC who handled each issue.

Debt-relief strategies (including bankruptcy and non-bankruptcy solutions).

Jim Lister – jlister@bhb.com
Austin Barron – abarron@bhb.com
George Pitts – gpitts@bhb.com

Availability of stimulus money to small businesses and individuals.

Bill Bitner – wbittner@bhb.com
Jennifer Alexander – jalexander@bhb.com

Availability of emergency small business loans through the Small Business Association.

Jon DeVore – jdevore@bhb.com
Carissa Siebeneck – csiebeneck@bhb.com
Jim Lister – jlister@bhb.com

Strategies on dealing with financially unstable customers, clients, and suppliers.

Jim Lister – jlister@bhb.com
Austin Barron – abarron@bhb.com
George Pitts – gpitts@bhb.com

Response to pandemic by public entities (municipalities and school districts).

Holly Wells – hwells@bhb.com
David Gross – dgross@bhb.com

Navigating new leave provisions in coronavirus paid leave law.

Jennifer Alexander – jalexander@bhb.com
Jim Lister – jlister@bhb.com

New laws and regulations regarding the airline industry.

Bill Bittner – wbittner@bhb.com
Erich Grome – egrome@bhb.com

Application of force majeure clauses in service agreements, leases, and real estate transactions.

David Gross – dgross@bhb.com
Suzanne Cherot – scherot@bhb.com
Will Earnhart – wearnhart@bhb.com
Adam Cook – acook@bhb.com

Guidelines and regulations related to the use of telehealth and contracts related to telemedicine.

Lisa Ross – eross@bhb.com
Jennifer Alexander – jalexander@bhb.com
David Gross – dgross@bhb.com

Insurance coverage for damages caused by COVID-19.

David Gross – dgross@bhb.com

Employment questions (terminations, layoffs, leave, teleworking, and Department of Labor compliance).

Jennifer Alexander – jalexander@bhb.com
Will Earnhart – wearnhart@bhb.com
Jim Lister – jlister@bhb.com

The pandemic’s impact on construction projects.

Adam Cook – acook@bhb.com
Aaron Sperbeck – asperbeck@bhb.com

Impact of COVID-19 on federal government contractors and subcontractors.

Jon DeVore – jdevore@bhb.com
Carissa Siebeneck – csiebeneck@bhb.com

Emergency declarations and government mandates and restrictions.

Holly Wells – hwells@bhb.com
David Gross – dgross@bhb.com
Aaron Sperbeck – asperbeck@bhb.com
Bill Bittner – wbittner@bhb.com

Impact on Tribes and Alaska Native Corporations.

Jon DeVore – jdevore@bhb.com
Carissa Siebeneck – csiebeneck@bhb.com
Bill Bittner – wbittner@bhb.com

Impact on Homeowner’s Associations or Condominium Owners’ Associations.

Sarah Badten – sbadten@bhb.com